Monday, March 2, 2015

Last List Blog Hop: Hissy Fitz by Partick Jennings (Interview + Giveaway)

Monday, March 2, 2015
LAST LIST BLOG HOP
The Last List Blog Hop is made possible by Cuddlebuggery. For more information about this blog hop, please visit this link.

HISSY FITZ
by
Children's Fiction - Ages 7-9
Publication: January 6th 2014 by Egmont USA

BUY THE BOOK:
Amazon || Barnes & Noble

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
A moment ago, I was happily napping on the windowsill in the sunshine, dreaming I was flying through the air, catching sparrows in my claws.


Now I’m awake. Georgie woke me. I wouldn’t do that to her.


A popular middle-grade writer moves to chapter books (ages 7-9) with this humorous tale about a cat that makes Grumpy Cat seem cheerful. Perfect for fans of Geronimo Stilton and Dog Diaries.


Hissy Fitz lives with some two-legged creatures who are destined to serve him in every possible way and understand his every whim. Sadly, these creatures are sorely lacking in their skills. For one thing–they touch him when they want to touch him. Don’t they know that the two-legged are there for him to touch when he wants to–meaning when he wants food? Petting wakes him up! They speak to him–don’t they know the two-legged should be seen–so Hissy knows where to order food–and not heard! It’s becoming intolerable. What is this irascible cat to do?


EGMONT USA • ISBN: 978-606845967

Find the at your local book shop, or order it from your favorite online outlet via my website: http://www.patrickjennings.com/tigers-books/

Follow Hissy Fitz’s twitter feed! @TheHissyFitz

"With its short chapters, snappy dialogue, and fast-moving plot, this book will be popular with newly independent readers." —School Library Journal

"Hissy’s drily delivered complaints and observations (“Humans are the noisiest creatures alive. I’m not sure there is any escape”) entertain, while Hissy’s frustration at his dependence on large humans who annoy him will likely resonate with many a reader." —Publisher's Weekly


INTERVIEW:
 
1. How did you come up with the idea of Hissy Fitz? 

During a writing workshop I was leading with a group of middle-grade students in Michigan, the idea of a cat that couldn’t sleep was suggested: an insomniac cat. The phrase make me giggle, so I jotted it down. Cats sleep on average eighteen to nineteen hours a day. How would a cat—an animal that is already mercurial and often surly—behave if it was unable to sleep? This was a clearly an epic quest that needed to be written.

2. You already have a lot of novels, what's the best part in writing novels? 

The development of the story. I’m doing that right now: reading, gathering a cast, listing events, outlining, creating a world where people live and one person (in this a Corgi) struggles to get what they desire.

3. Have you always wanted to be an author? If not, what did you wanted to be? 

Heavens no. I wanted to be a Major League center fielder, an efficiency expert (after seeing Clifton Webb in Cheaper By the Dozen), a lawyer, a rock star, a fine artist, a movie director, and a teacher.

4. Are you going to release more novels any time soon?

Yes. I don’t know if they’ll be published, but I’ll release them—from my mind, say. When Egmont USA closed, I had a novel finished, its ARC sent out, its pub date set for September. It was the first book in a new series, a spin-off from my Guinea Dog books. We’ll see what becomes of it. I have a picture book deal pending with another house, and a short story coming out soon in Scholastic’s Storyworks in-class magazine (circulation, 200,000). I’ll be writing till I’m physically unable.

5. Recommend your book [Hissy Fitz] to the readers.

Hissy can’t sleep. The Fitz family won’t let her. Dad's power tools are earsplitting. The boy is maniacal. The girl is smothering. The neighborhood is filled with trucks, dogs, and more people. Hissy is coming unglued. He hisses. He lashes out. Do not mess with Hissy Fitz.

ABOUT PATRICK JENNINGS:


Patrick Jennings’s books for young readers have received honors from Publishers Weekly, The Horn Book, Smithsonian Magazine, the PEN Center USA, the Woman’s National Book Association, and the Chicago and New York Public Libraries. The Seattle Public Library awarded his book, Guinea Dog, the Washington State Book Award of 2011. His book, Faith and the Electric Dogs, is currently being adapted for the screen. His new book, Hissy Fitz, was published in January 2015. He currently writes full time in his home in Port Townsend, Washington. 

Patrick Jennings
address: 938 Water Street #301, Port Townsend, WA  98368
phone: 360-379-4114
twitter: @PJenningsWrites

GIVEAWAY
US and CANADA residents only. 
Cheaters never win. Please make sure your entries are valid because I do check each and every entry!
  • Signed copy of Odd Weird Little + bookmark

Check out all the other bloggers who participated in the Last List Blog Hop through the Linky widget below. Also, spread the word about the hop through Twitter by using the hashtag #LastListEgmont. <333

No comments:

Post a Comment